[Skip to Content]

More information on the awards listed below can be found here. We have updated our nomination policies, nominators may no longer nominate individuals from their home institution. The full nomination requirements can be found here

Atkinson Prize in Psychological and Cognitive Science
Honors significant advances in the psychological and cognitive sciences with important implications for formal and systematic theory in these fields. Two prizes of $100,000 are presented biennially.

Comstock Prize in Physics
Honors a North American resident for a recent innovative discovery or investigation in electricity, magnetism, or radiant energy. Presented with a $50,000 prize and $50,000 to support the recipient’s research.

G. K. Warren Prize
Honors a distinguished contribution to fluviatile morphology. Presented with a $20,000 prize. 

Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal
Honors excellence in published research on marine or freshwater algae. Presented with a gold-plated bronze medal and $50,000 prize.

J. Lawrence Smith Medal
Honors original and meritorious investigations of meteoric bodies and is presented with a $50,000 prize.

James Craig Watson Medal
Honors outstanding contributions to the science of astronomy and carries with it a gold-plated bronze medal, a $25,000 prize, and $50,000 to support the recipient’s research.

Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal
Honors outstanding research in the medical sciences. The medal carries with it a $25,000 award, and an
additional $50,000 for research.

John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science
Honors noteworthy and distinguished accomplishments in any field of science within the National Academy of Science’s charter and is presented with a $25,000 prize. Presented in 2024 in climate.

Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics
Honors exceptional contributions to the mathematical sciences by a mid-career mathematician and is presented with a $20,000 prize.

Michael and Sheila Held Prize
Honors an outstanding, recent (within the previous 8 years) work in combinational and discrete optimization, or related parts of computer science. Presented with a $100,000 prize.  

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences
Honors innovative research in the chemical sciences that contributes to the better understanding of the natural sciences and to the benefit of humanity. Presented with a $15,000 prize.

NAS Award in Molecular Biology
Honors a recent notable discovery in molecular biology by a young scientist (no older than 50) who is a citizen of the United States. Presented with a $25,000 prize.

NAS Award in the Evolution of Earth and Life- Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal 
Honors meritorious work in zoology or paleontology published in a three- to five-year period. Presented with a $20,000 prize.

NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences
Honors a mid-career (defined as up to 20 years since completion of PhD) individual researcher at a U.S. institution who has made an extraordinary contribution to understanding the fundamental biology of an agriculturally important species and/or has had a major impact on agriculture. Presented with a $100,000 prize.

NAS Public Welfare Medal
Honors extraordinary use of science for the public good. The Public Welfare Medal is the Academy's most prestigious award.

Pradel Research Award
Honors mid-career neuroscientists whose work is making major contributions to our understanding of the nervous system. Presented with $50,000 to support neuroscience research.

Troland Research Awards
Honors unusual achievement by early-career researchers (preferably no older than 45) to further empirical research in psychology regarding relationships of consciousness and the physical world. Two awards are presented with $75,000 to support recipient’s research.