[Skip to Content]

The nomination period closed at 11:59 PM Eastern on Monday, October 7, 2019.  

Arthur L. Day Prize and Lectureship
Honors a scientist making lasting contributions to the study of the physics of the Earth and whose lectures will provide solid, timely, and useful additions to the knowledge and literature in the field. Presented with a $50,000 prize and funds to present a series of Day Lectures.

Atkinson Prize in Psychological and Cognitive Sciences 
Honors significant advances in the psychological and cognitive sciences with important implications for formal and systematic theory in these fields. Two prizes of $100,000 are presented biennially. 

James Craig Watson Medal
Honors outstanding contributions to the science of astronomy and carries with it a gold-plated bronze medal, a $25,000 prize, and $50,000 to support the recipient’s research.

Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal
Honors outstanding research in the medical sciences. The medal carries with it a $25,000 award, and an additional $50,000 for research.

John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science
Honors noteworthy and distinguished accomplishments in any field of science within the National Academy of Sciences charter. The 2020 Award will be presented in the physical sciences with a medal, and a $25,000 prize. 

Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics
Honors exceptional contributions to the mathematical sciences by a mid-career mathematician. Presented with a $20,000 prize.

Michael and Sheila Held Prize
Honors an outstanding, recent work in combinational and discrete optimization, or related parts of computer science. Presented with a $100,000 prize. 

NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing 
Honors authors whose reviews have synthesized extensive and difficult material rendering a significant service to science and influencing the course of scientific thought. Presented in 2020 in the social sciences, with a $20,000 prize.

NAS Award for the Industrial Application of Science
Honors applications in industry of significant achievements in science. Presented in 2020 in sustainability, with a $25,000 prize. 

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences
Honors innovative research in the chemical sciences that contributes to the better understanding of the natural sciences and to the benefit of humanity. Presented with a $15,000 prize.

NAS Award in Molecular Biology
Honors a recent notable discovery in molecular biology by a young scientist (no older than 45) who is a citizen of the United States. Presented with a $25,000 prize.

NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences 
Honors mid-career individual researcher at a U.S. institution who has made an extraordinary contribution to understanding the fundamental biology of an agriculturally important species and/or has had a major impact on agriculture. Presented with a $100,000 prize.

NAS Public Welfare Medal
Honors extraordinary use of science for the public good. The Public Welfare Medal is the Academy's most prestigious award.

Pradel Research Award 
Honors mid-career neuroscientists whose work is making major contributions to our understanding of the nervous system. Presented with $50,000 to support neuroscience research.

Troland Research Awards 
Honors unusual achievement by
early-career researchers (preferably no older than 45) and furthers empirical research in psychology regarding relationships of consciousness and the physical world. Two awards are presented with $75,000 to support recipient’s research.